Sanna Marin joins task force steering Ukraine’s NATO accession

Former Finnish Prime Minister Sanna Marin has joined the newly established International Task Force on Security and Euro-Atlantic Integration of Ukraine, aimed at bolstering the country’s security position.

The high-profile task force held its inaugural meeting on Tuesday, hosted by the Office of the Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelenskyy. Besides Marin, the group includes notable figures such as former Nato Secretary-General Anders Fogh Rasmussen, former UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson and former US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton,

According to a statement released by the Ukrainian president’s office, the steering committee’s primary objective is to develop a strategy for Ukraine’s closer engagement with the Euro-Atlantic security area.

This initiative comes in the wake of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine two years ago, which, as stated by the head of the Ukrainian president’s office, Andriy Yermak, has “been a devastating blow to the rules-based global order”.

Anders Fogh Rasmussen, who served as Nato’s Secretary-General from 2009 to 2014 and now co-chairs the committee, emphasised the importance of establishing a new security architecture for Ukraine.

Rasmussen outlined that this architecture should be based on three main pillars — a long-term security commitment to Ukraine, membership in the European Union, and Nato membership.

“We need to set out a clear vision for Ukraine’s future security arrangements now to make it clear to Putin that we will not let him achieve his war aims,” Rasmussen said.

Rasmussen noted that one of the key tasks of the group is to assess whether Ukraine meets the necessary criteria for Nato membership.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.